Cozy Afternoon quilt

This week I have been concentrating on completing my Cozy Afternoon quilt. All my embroidery blocks are done, pieces sewn and layers pinned together. Now that leaves quilting and binding to do before the end of November. Trying to make my mind up how to quilt? I have seen a lot of large stitch quilting using  pearl cotton and the Japanese art of sashiko, so maybe a combination!  I’m thinking parallel lines and crosses using pearl cotton in different colours. Have to be careful not to spoil the embroidery squares.

image

The outside blocks seem a little dark so going to add some light coloured piping to the binding. Have sewn 1 1/2 inch blocks together from the left over light fabric used in the middle. Will position this between the quilt and binding.

image

To use a frame or not ? I have never used a frame to quilt just let the weight of the quilt on my lap keep it taut enough for sewing. Thinking of trying it out just to see if it makes a difference.

You can find Jacquelynne’s blog and free pattern here http://jacquelynnesteves.com/

We are spending next week in Portugal so hope to get some Daisy Do flowers done of an evening.

Happy stitching!

