Daisy Do update


You should see my work room, what a mess, there is fabric everywhere. It has been great fun auditioning pieces of fabric for just the right role. Big petal, little petal or the starring role in the middle.

Thought I would just show you my process for making the flowers. If it helps just one new comer to hand stitching I will be happy.

image

A great tip to stop your template moving is to put sand paper on the bottom.

image

I purchased a seam wheel, a handy little gadget, it gives you a 1/4 inch around your template.imageUsing a few pins around the curve gives me extra security that my lines will meet up. Then it’s a small running stitch taking the pins out as I go. To start I like to use a small knot in my thread, do a back-stitch about every 4th stitch and finish with a double stitch.

image

One petal done and 5 more to go!

image

I then trim back the small petals in the centre and press.

image

Then add your circle, one flower done, on to the next!

Problem solving

This petal was not laying flat so needed to go back and check where I may have gone wrong.

image

Placing my template on the large petal I could see my marking had gone wrong. There was no other way than unpicking and starting again. I had used a thicker felt pen to mark, won’t do that again.
image

Looks fine now with the centre added, it can join the rest of the completed flowers.image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

Good luck to every body else doing the Jen Kingwell quilts you can find them here  lots more flowers to do! So it’s back to my messy fabric pile. The saying ” As happy as a pig in muck ” comes to mind, only my fabric smells much nicer.

Happy stitching

3 thoughts on “Daisy Do update

  1. Thanks for all your tips! You have been an awesome help for me. I have hand stitched before many years ago, but not stitched these curves, and I wasn’t so sure my templates were meeting where they are supposed to. I am so glad to see that your Daisy blocks are coming together!
    I will be posting my first ones on my blog tomorrow, please come for a visit. I have saved your blog now to my favorites and I plan to stop by often.

    Like

Comments are closed.